Eastern Switzerland

Language navigation

Overview of the most important changes effective 9 December 2018  

Effective 9 December 2018 the departure times for trains from Zurich in the direction of Wil–St. Gallen and Frauenfeld–Romanshorn will change. Various areas will be subject to fundamentally new timetables with new travel times and connections, particularly all PostBus routes in the entire Canton Thurgau, in the Appenzell Vorderland and the Fürstenland regions.

Canton Thurgau

All PostBus timetables in the entire Canton Thurgau have been redesigned with new departure times and new connections. The services have been specifically expanded. In the area Weinfelden-Kreuzlingen-Ermatingen the routing of various PostBus lines has changed. From now on, the four routes 833, 920, 829 and 832 will all meet and interconnect at “Lipperswil, Conny-Land”.

More at RuckZuck

Fürstenland Region

The PostBus route network in the area between Wil SG-Uzwil-Flawil-Gossau and Bischofszell will be restructured. The routing - some of which is new - provides better timetable stability in addition to a constructive development of public transport. The Burgau and Oberglatt districts in Flawil now have access to public transportation. Maestrani and the Chocolarium will be served by route 741 Flawil–Uzwil–Niederuzwil (every 30 minutes on workdays, every hour on Sundays).

The new timetable in the Fürstenland
region (only in german)

Appenzell Vorderland Region

The PostBus services from/to Heiden will be adjusted to the new train schedule of the express trains between St. Gallen and Zurich. All buses leaving Heiden are subject to new departure times and different connections. PostBus route 226 Heiden–Heerbrugg brings back the popular REX connections in Heerbrugg from/to Buchs SG–Chur.

More at Appenzell Vorderland region
(only in german)

Bahnhofplatz St. Gallen

All places of departure at Bahnhofplatz St. Gallen for the PostBus and other bus lines will be reassigned. Find out now where the postbuses are leaving from 9 December on.

Bahnhofplatz St. Gallen


St. Gallen-Bodensee Region

The routing for Mörschwil, Steinach and Horn will change. The two PostBus routes 210 and 211 from St. Gallen will operate with a different itinerary via Mörschwil–Tübach to Steinach. Both routes will offer 30-minute departures Mondays to Fridays until 20.00 hours, and hourly departures in the evenings and on weekends. The combination of routes 210 and 211 will result in 15-minute departures on the section St. Gallen–Mörschwil–Tübach (Mondays to Fridays until 20.00 hours) and 30-minute departures in the evenings and on weekends.

On the St. Gallen–Arbon route, Sunday bus services will be expanded to provide 30-minute departures from 08.00 to 18.00 hours. The timetable departure times will shift by 15 minutes. The route is scheduled to connect with the S7 train in Arbon and the S8 train in Wittenbach.

The operations of the current route 203 St. Gallen–Wittenbach will be taken over by the Transport Services of the City of St. Gallen.

Waldkirch Region

From now on, PostBus route 154 will operate on the Wittenbach–Bernhardzell–Waldkirch–Arnegg line. The travel times from/to St. Gallen will decrease. Excellent train connections are available from/to St. Gallen both in Arnegg and in Wittenbach. Route 154 is replacing the current route 206. The timetable of route 132 Waldkirch–Engelburg will be cut back to just a few departures, most of these operating via Hohfirst.

Waldkirch–St. Gallen: 28 minutes

Additional links and Documents

Links (1)

PDF (1)

  • Detailed information new timetable

    (in german)

Click here to get to your timetable.

Timetable information